Wednesday, September 29

Cycling to Hampton Court Palace

Wednesday morning we had to wake up pretty early in order to catch the tube and make it to the location we had to pick up our bikes to begin cycling. Cycling was by far my favorite thing we have done in London. We got to enjoy the beautiful scenery while riding a bike. I don’t think it gets much better than that. I found several houses I plan to buy someday. If I ever moved to London I really have no idea how I would decide where to live because there are so many beautiful areas. I guess the cost would probably play a huge factor because some of the houses/flats we passed were quite pricey as are most in London.

I found the cycling to be extremely relaxing. What was supposed to be a leisurely pace wasn’t exactly what I consider a leisurely pace but I wasn’t dead when we were done and I got in a bit of a workout so I can’t complain. We were supposed to ride eight miles total. It sure didn’t feel like eight miles when we were done and even Phillipa said she thought it was less but no one really knows. I was kind of sad when we had to give the bikes back to be honest. We were again the first BSU group to have cycling as part of our Wednesday excursions. I think it helped that we are a smaller group than most, but I hope other groups get to have the same experience.

We completely lucked out with weather too. It was supposed to downpour all day but it didn’t rain the entire time we were cycling…only before and after. How lucky can we get :) This entire trip we really haven’t had to deal with any bad weather so it has just been fantastic! (Hopefully I haven’t jinxed it now!) Once we were done cycling we headed to Hampton Court Palace. The path we cycled to Hampton Court on was actually the route that Henry VIII would have taken to get to the palace so I thought that was nifty. We took about a 20 minute rest and we all fueled ourselves up with treats. I tried pistachio ice cream and although I wasn’t sure how I was going to like it I really enjoyed it.

After our break we all competed to see who could get through the maze first. Phillipa had tried to trick the boys to help us girls win but sadly it didn’t work and they still beat us. Honestly we were kind of taking our time in the maze because it was pretty neat. Next we went inside the Palace. They have costume robes that you can wear while you are walking through. Phillipa thought we would think it was too immature, but honestly she is talking to a group of college kids. We were all about it. We all felt very cool in our attire.

The palace was gigantic. Phillipa took us through Henry VIII’s kitchens and then through some of the main rooms. After that she told us we were allowed to either leave or go do our own thing. Most people left because they were exhausted but I thought the house was incredible so a few of the girls stuck around to see more of it. We ended up staying until it closed at 6:00. Even though we stayed that whole time we still didn't see the entire place. By that time I was completely exhausted and ready to go put my feet up and relax for the evening. We still had a little over an hour train ride home and Jeana and I had to get some groceries. It made for a long day but we rolled into our flat a little before 8:00 and were quite relieved when we got there.

We spent the rest of our evening planning out our trips and purchasing our tickets, which is quite stressful when you’ve already made a few planning errors but we got it all done. It’s nice to have it all planned out and it makes me really excited for what is to come! Hard to believe but I’ve been here in London for nearly a month now. Only two months to go…I am hoping the time doesn’t fly by to quickly though I can say I am ready to see all my friends and family at home!

No comments:

Post a Comment