Tuesday, September 14

Sometimes things don't go as planned

A big lesson I'm learning here in London is that things don't always go the way you expect them to...actually they hardly ever do but it only makes everything feel more like an adventure. Life is all about changing plans and figuring it all out along the way, which leads me to my day today. At the start of the day on the schedule we had our 4 mile walk/National Gallery/Globe theatre experience. The walk was only supposed to go until noon...we got done at 1:30. A five hour walk can be pretty exhausting if you haven't had the opportunity to try it out...especially when you've got a nice cold breeze off the Thames in the background. It was a lovely walk but it definitely wore us all out. Since we were supposed to begin our National Gallery tour at 2:00 our professor (who also did the 4 mile walk with us) decided we should move it to Thursday morning and Denise canceled our fitness walk for Thursday morning so that it fit into our schedule. So after some rearranging we were able to have the afternoon to ourselves to rest and that is what everyone did. I'm almost positive every single one of us took a nap...at least we all did in our flat and woke up a bit refreshed.

The walk this morning was chalked full of great information. I will include some of it along with my pictures whenever I manage to get enough time to upload them onto facebook. One story I must include in here though. We were on our tour and Lyndon decided we should stop for a potty break. He told us to make sure we had 50p (pence) if we wanted to go. We all heard this but it was only really in passing and none of us comprehended it until we reached the bathroom and were unable to get in until we put our 50p into a machine that would open up a gate (like you would enter at an amusement park)to let us in the restroom. It seemed like a steep price to pay to use the restroom but if you have to go you have to go. I've seen that in other countries (usually poverty stricken ones) but I was shocked to see it here. The bathroom was very nice though so I suppose it was worth my 50p! We all had a great time on the tour and got to see and hear a lot of interesting information. Our tour guides/professors, Lyndon and Phillipa, are extremely knowledgeable. One of our weekend tasks was to complete some biographical research on a famous person we were given from British history. On our tour we had to present the research we had done and then Lyndon and Phillipa explained how it was incorporated into the tour and the various locations we visited. It was a really neat way of learning the history. Most of the people were the kings and queens throughout history and it was fascinating to see all the connections among them.

When the tour was over we headed straight back to our flat so we could make lunch and rest. After lunch I took a shower because I had been pretty cold all morning and could not seem to get warm. (Speaking of showers...I'm not sure I have mentioned this but there is minimal water pressure here because they have a Victorian piping system. They are working on replacing it apparently but this part of London has not been renovated yet. According to the owner of the flat they replace about 100 feet per month or so and there is like 12,000 feet of pipe to be replaced. So its a lengthy project. But my point is it takes FOREVER to shower here. Not only that I seem to be incapable of finding a good temperature to put the shower on. If you get it to hot there is basically no way to turn the water down and I just have to completely turn the shower off and turn it back on so I don't scold myself. Its a complicated process that I'm hoping I get down fairly soon as I have had very little luck so far. But back to my day...) Then I had every intention of adding my pictures on facebook (as I still have not put up Sundays pictures either) but I quickly realized how tired I was and decided a nap was more beneficial. I got to sleep for almost an hour and a half. My alarm was set for 5:00 but when I woke up I was not ready to get up yet so I stayed in bed until about 5:15. We had to leave for the Globe at 5:45 so I didn't have time to eat dinner but I wasn't hungry as we didn't eat lunch until after 2:00 sometime.

We got to the Globe a little early which gave us time to look around in the shops. Then we waited in line to get into the theater. Once we were inside we were able to take pictures until the show actually started. It was such a neat place. I ended up taking a video of it so that people can really see what its like because I'm not sure my pictures will do it justice. We were on the ground floor (the standing area). The group I was with decided to stand all the way back so that they were against the wall to lean on. I didn't lean on the wall but we had a nice spot. We could have gotten closer but I think the spot we chose was a good one. If I go again I might stand a little closer though because there were a few extremely tall people in my way. (I decided that since its just standing room and its not really on a slant there should be a height maximum for people who are too tall...I'm not sure that'll really pass but I thought it was a good idea!)

When the performance first started I have to admit I was not excited to be there. I was still a little tired and my legs and feet were feeling it. It was hard to understand the actors at first and the play was just downright confusing at the beginning. As it went on the play really grew on me. The actors were hysterical. The beginning was just a little dull because nothing was really happening in the play and they were just introducing all the characters. Once the plot developed the characters personalities came out and it was just a hoot. We all ended up feeling about the same when the play first started so I was glad I wasn't the only one! Standing for that long is kind of tough after such a long morning (even with the nap!). The standing only really added to the experience though and I wouldn't change a thing about it. The second act was fantastic and I was laughing the entire time. We all had a really good time and it was a great experience, one some of us might try again!

We saw "Mary Wives of Windsor"...I guess that might be helpful to know. Basically its about this old, very large man who thinks he is clever by sending a love note to two women (both of whom are married and are very good friends). The women tell each other about the note they get and see that its exactly the same minus their names so they decide to play a tricks on the man. At the same time their husbands so not know that they are playing this trick and one of the husbands goes crazy trying to catch his wife cheating on him. The ladies are very clever and eventually they tell their husbands about what they have been up to and then they are in on it with them to trick the old man. It was quite entertaining and we all got a big laugh out of it. One I would recommend anyone to see.

After it was over we headed back to our flats and all had dinner and now I'm about to head to bed. One quick story about the tube...I found it unique that on the tube we switched over on to get to the Globe they announced over the PA system that we should be careful because pickpocketers were known at the station. In my mind if I was a pickpocketer then I probably would avoid that station as people should be on their guard if the PA is mentioning it, but it was just curious to me. I'm glad they did and none of us had any trouble :)

In the morning I will be going to the Science Museum for my walking class followed by my British Pop Music class. I'm quite excited to meet my professor for that class and to attend the class! Should be a fun day ahead tomorrow again!

1 comment:

  1. sounds exciting, I still think its funny that you are barely taking any legit classes while you are there lol. Walking followed by British Pop Music? Whatever works for you...

    ReplyDelete